The 2018 Midterm Election will take place on Tuesday, November 6, 2018, in Harris County, Texas. Early voting for the 2018 Midterm Election will begin on Monday, October 22, 2018, and end on Friday, November 2, 2018. AUBREY R. TAYLOR: "It is imperative that we make it our business to elect the "BEST QUALIFIED CANDIDATES" who value us when we go to the polls to cast our vote in 2018. Houston Business Connections Newspaper is published by Aubrey R. Taylor Communications. All Rights Reserved. Please feel free to call 832-212-8735 for all media inquiries, and (281)788-3033 for advertising or outreach support.

Friday, May 24, 2013

ANNOUNCEMENT: Fort Bend County ISD's Travis High School’s One-Act Play wins First Place at State UIL Competition

Travis High School's UIL One-Act Play cast and crew. 

Travis High School’s One-Act Play wins First Place at State UIL Competition

FORT BEND ISD – The cast and crew of Travis High School’s one-act play were awarded the state championship after performing at the UIL One-Act Play competition on May 22 at Bass Concert Hall in Austin.

Under the direction of Tommy Grubbs and assistant Tiffanie Thomas, Travis High School (THS) performed “Unexpected Tenderness” by Israel Horovitz. THS advanced to the state level after competing at the Zone, District, Area and Regional levels. “Unexpected Tenderness” is a biographical memory play about a son who discusses his decision to end the cycle of abuse and centers around a dysfunctional Jewish family and its abusive, yet remorseful father whose demons ultimately drive his family away.

THS competed against seven other 5A high school theatre groups for the state title. Cast members and individual awards include Jon Rivenburg (Best Actor and Samuel French Award), Shea Peterson (All-Star Cast), Carissa Cardy (Honorable Mention All-Star Cast), Andrea Rodriguez (Honorable Mention All-Star Cast), Duane Garcia-Facey, Taylor Winks, and Ryan Siller. Crew members include Jose Sabillon, Claire Brady, Jules Iradukunda, Kyrah Schoenberger and Andrea Martinez. Reagan Moore, Tiffany Abreu, Rachel McCall, and Micheal Raby are alternates.

Several Travis students have contributed to the success of the show, including Marjorie Cade, Tejal Thakor, Miles Agee, Sydney Moore, Katlyn Gupton, Manny Soto, Jonathan Blair, Quinn Kobrin, Brandon Willis, Marisa Emiliani, Trey Tobias, Ronel Edipokeya, Chris Uhlig , Ashley Blakeman, Courtney Crews and many others. The show includes many special and original props made by the technical staff led by Brady and McCall. The lights were designed by Kyrah Schoenberger. Jules Iradukunda worked on selecting vintage costumes and repairing them for stage use, and Andrea Martinez designed the sound. The award-winning technicians are led by outstanding stage manager, Jose Sabillon. THS Principal J.J. Kyle has also been a major contributor to the show’s success.

For more information about the State competition or Travis Theatrical Company news, please visit

The UIL One-Act Play Contest was founded in 1927 and is the largest high school play production contest or play festival in the world.